NOTICE: has been archived.

The archive will be available at for approximately one year (through September 2020). If you use or are responsible for content here that is not yet available elsewhere, please contact the PWD Digital Team.

Throwback Thursday: Philadelphia Water Commissioners, Past and Present

From left to right: Kumar Kishinchand (1992-2000 and 2001-2004), Bernard Brunwasser (2004-2011), Carmen F. Guarino (1972-1980), Howard Neukrug (2011-present) and William Marrazzo (1980-1988)
From left to right: Kumar Kishinchand, Bernard Brunwasser, Carmen F. Guarino, Howard Neukrug and William Marrazzo.

The photo above is a throwback to the 200th anniversary kickoff event for the Fairmount Water Works held this year on September 10—but it’s also a throwback to four decades of leadership at Philadelphia Water.

 It’s not too often you get a group with shared experiences like this together, so we made sure to document the moment and wanted to share it with you. Here's a little more history:

uel S. Baxter was the first commissioner. Before that,water services were provided by the Bureau of Water, the water department’s predecessor, with a Chief Engineer overseeing operations. Click here to read a biography and interview with Baxter (our Baxter Drinking Water Treatment Plant on the Delaware is named in his honor) hosted on the website of our history consultant, Adam Levine.

Here's a look at all of our commissioners since 1952:


Samuel S. Baxter: 1952-1972 (Died in 1982).

Carmen F. Guarino: 1972-1980

Kenneth Zitomer: 1980 (Died in 2008. Read his obituary here.)

William Marrazzo: 1980-1988

John Plonski: 1989-1992

Kumar Kishinchand: 1992-2000

Richard E. Roy: 2000-2001 (Fun fact: our litter-skimming vessel, the RE Roy is named in his honor.)

Kumar Kishinchand: 2001-2004 (second term)

Bernard Brunwasser: 2004-2011

Howard Neukrug: 2011-2015